INTERNATIONAL PARTNERS

L’Abri builds solid partnerships with a variety of international art organisations and artistic networks. This enablesAssociated Artists to carry out residencies in foreign countries. These partnerships are not unilateral, they function as exchanges: emerging foreign artists are welcomed to L’Abri just as our artists are welcomed abroad. These spaces for dialogue are a fertile meeting ground for artistic and intellectual stimulation, and also facilitate international collaborations between the Associate Artists and the foreign artists hosted at L’Abri.

FESTIVAL NIDO – RIVERA (URUGUAY)

Campo Abierto is a platform dedicated to stimulating thinking and creative practices from different fields such as education, culture, art or technology. Campo Abierto seeks to put these reflections and practices into use for the benefit of the local communities, its social problems and needswith the idea of generating innovative life prototypes that favour social development. Only a few kilometres from downtown Rivera and at the border of Livramento, Brazil, the ten hectares of Campo Abierto form a propitious place of experimentation for new forms of living, creation and collective reflection.
Raphaëlle Mueller, Marius Barthaux and Valentin Dubois have gone to Uruguay in November 2018; Rémi Dufay, Max Herrmann and Alex Howling in November 2019.

THE PAINTBRUSH FACTORY / FABRICA DE PENSULE – CLUJ (ROMANIA)

Fabrica de Pensule is the first collective project of this size on the Romanian cultural scene and a relevant example of the transformation from an industrial building to a cultural space. The artists, galleries and cultural institutions (actives in fields such as theatre, contemporary dance, visual arts, music, and arts in public spaces) all come together to provide relevant cultural content not only for the artistic community but also for the general public. Besides artists’ ateliers and workspaces, Fabrica de Pensule also hosts events of local and international partners. It acts as a major player in cultural and urban Romanian politics. Thanks to this partnership, Gauthier Teuscher and Marion Chabloz have been to Fabrica de Pensule in July 2019, while L’Abri hosted Adrian Ganea and Kinga Ötvös in June of the same year, and the beautiful collaboration between Gauthier Teuscher and Kinga Ötvös began.

SÍN ARTS CENTER – BUDAPEST (HUNGARY)

The SÍN Arts Center works in the field of contemporary Hungarian performing arts at both national and international level. Their main objective is to discover, form and support emerging artists, focusing on producing and promoting their projects nationally and internationally. SÍN Arts Center provides rehearsal spaces, and long-term professional and artistic support as well as possibilities for co-production. Thanks to the partnership with SÍN Arts Center, Marius Barthaux has done a residency in Hungary in 2019 and L’Abri welcomed Adél Juhász in February 2020, who then became one of L’Abri’s Associate Artist for the 20-21 season.

CRUSHING BORDERS (SLOVENIA, SPAIN, ITALY, HUNGARY, POLAND, GERMANY)

The Crushing Borders network’s main concern is giving artists enough time and space for creation with no pressure towards production. It is a space dedicated to sharing knowledge and practices between emerging artists, creating strong bonds between them and the territories in which they work. Our partners are Glej Theater (Ljubljana), Nau Ivanow (Barcelona), Residenza Idra (Brescia), SÍN Arts Center (Budapest), Performing Arts Institute (Warsaw) and Schloss Bröllin (Fahrenwalde).

RÉSEAU GRAND LUXE (FRANCE, BELGIUM, GERMANY, LUXEMBOURG, SWITZERLAND AND GREECE)

The Réseau Grand Luxe is defined as a platform of artistic exchanges for choreographers who wish to develop new projects. Launched in 2015 and now supported by eight partner structures, the reseau Grand Luxe proposes to provide support for new choreographic creators and their projects.
Its eight partner institutions – the Grand Studio in Brussels, the Centre Chorégraphique National – Ballet de Lorraine, the Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin – CCN de Mulhouse, PÔLE SUD – Centre de Développement Chorégraphique National de Strasbourg and the TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique du Luxembourg, the Freiburg Theater in Freiburg im Breisgau, L’Abri in Geneva and the Onassis Stegi in Athens – have decided to pool their know-how and their teams to serve artistic projects from their territories, which require, at some point in their development, specific and adapted assistance.
It is through the combination of the richness of each of its members (workspaces, staff, resources, an outside look on projects, administrative aid, advice and support, recordings, education) that each assistance programme is created. This network, unique on its field, renews the spirit of ‘coming together’ by creating new modes of interventions outside the traditional circuits of production and promotion.
Thanks to the Réseau Grand LUXE, Romane Peytavin and Pierre Piton have done residencies at the Grand Studio in Brussels, while L’Abri welcomed Marino Vanna in April and September 2019. Anna-Marija Adomaityte and Pierre Piton have been a part of Réseau Grand LUXE’s 2019/2020 programme.

OTHER COLLABORATIONS ARE IN PROGRESS…

X

ÉCHANGES ET RÉSIDENCES

L’Abri met en place des partenariats solides avec des structures et des réseaux artistiques divers. Cela permet notamment aux Artistes Associé.e.s d’effectuer des résidences à l’étranger. Ces partenariats ne se veulent pas unilatéraux et se construisent comme des échanges : des artistes émergent.e.s étranger.ère.s sont également accueilli.e.s à L’Abri. Ces espaces de dialogue sont le terrain de rencontres fertiles à la stimulation artistique et intellectuelle, mais aussi à de possibles collaborations internationales entre les artistes associé.e.s et les artistes accueilli.e.s à L’Abri.
D’autres partenariats sont mis en place, dans le but de créer des plateformes de programmation pour la relève artistique avec des partenaires cultuels divers. Dans ce cadre, L’Abri favorise les liens entre des lieux de programmation et les Artistes Associé.e.s.

FESTIVAL NIDO – RIVERA (URUGUAY)

Campo Abierto est une plateforme dédiée à la stimulation de la pensée et de pratiques créatives de différents horizons comme l’éducation, la culture, l’art ou la technologie. Campo Abierto cherche à mettre ces réflexions et ces pratiques au profit des problèmes et des besoins sociaux dans lequel s’inscrit cet espace dans l’idée de générer des prototypes de vie innovants favorisant le développement social. À une dizaine de kilomètres du centre ville de Rivera et à la frontière de Livramento au Brésil, les dix hectares de Campo Abierto forment une grande friche d’expérimentation pour des nouvelles formes d’habitat, de création de réflexion collectifs.
Raphaëlle Müller, Marius Berthaux, et Valentin Dubois sont partis en Uruguay en novembre 2018 ; Rémi Dufay, Max Herrmann et Alex Howling en novembre 2019.

THE PAINTBRUSH FACTORY / FABRICA DE PENSULE – CLUJ (ROUMANIE)

Fabrica de Pensule est le premier projet collectif de cette envergure sur la scène culturelle roumaine et un exemple pertinent de transformation d’un bâtiment industriel en espace culturel. Les artistes, galeries et organismes – actifs dans les domaines du théâtre, de la danse contemporaine, des arts visuels, des arts dans l’espace public, de la musique – s’engagent conjointement à fournir un contenu culturel pertinent, tant pour la communauté artistique que pour le grand public. En plus des ateliers d’artistes et des espaces de production, Fabrica de Pensule accueille également des événements de partenaires locaux et internationaux. Elle agit en tant qu’acteur majeur des politiques culturelles et urbaines dans le contexte roumain. Dans le cadre de ce partenariat, Gauthier Teuscher et Marion Chabloz sont partis à la Fabrica de Pensule en juillet 2019, L’Abri a accueilli Adrian Ganea et Kinga Ötvös en juin 2019 et une belle collaboration est née entre Gauthier Teuscher et Kinga Ötvös.

SÍN ARTS CENTER – HONGRIE (BUDAPEST)

Le SÍN Arts Center travaille dans le domaine des arts vivants contemporains hongrois à une échelle nationale et internationale. L’objectif central de cette structure est de découvrir, former et soutenir les artistes émergent.e.s et de promouvoir leurs projets en avec de la production et de la diffusion internationale. SÍN Arts Center met à disposition des salles de répétition, un encadrement professionnel et artistique à long terme ainsi que des cadres de coproduction. Dans le cadre du partenariat avec le SÍN Arts Center, Marius Barthaux est parti en résidence en 2019 et L’Abri a accueilli Adél Juhász en février 2020, qui est devenue Artiste Associée à L’Abri pour la saison 20-21.

CRUSHING BORDERS (SLOVÉNIE, ESPAGNE, ITALIE, HONGRIE, POLOGNE, ALLEMAGNE)

L’enjeu du réseau Crossing Border est de donner aux artistes, un temps et un espace appropriés pour la création sans les pousser à une production, un espace d’échange des connaissances, des savoir-faire et des pratiques entre artistes émergent.e.s, créer une relation forte entre les artistes et le territoire sur lequel iels travaillent. Les structures partenaires sont le Glej Theater (Ljubljana), le Nau Ivanov (Barcelone), la Residenza Idra (Brescia), le SÍN Arts Center (Budapest), Performing Arts Institute (Wroclaw) et le Schloss (Brollin).

RÉSEAU GRAND LUXE (FRANCE, BELGIQUE, ALLEMAGNE, LUXEMBOURG)

Le Réseau Grand Luxe sedéfinit comme un comptoir d’échanges artistiques au service de chorégraphes désirant développer de nouveaux projets.
Ses cinq structures fondatrices – Grand Studio à Bruxelles, Le Centre Chorégraphique National – Ballet de Lorraine, le Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin – CCN de Mulhouse, Pôle Sud – Centre de Développement Chorégraphique National de Strasbourg et le Trois C-L – Centre Chorégraphique du Luxembourg, auxquels s’est ajouté le Theater Freiburg de Fribourg-en-Brisgau et l’Abri de Genève– ont décidé de mettre en commun leur savoir-faire et leurs équipes au service de projets artistiques issus de leurs territoires qui nécessitent, à un moment de leur développement, une aide spécifique et adaptée. C’est par la combinaison des richesses de chacun de ses membres – espaces de travail, personnes, ressources, regards extérieurs, aide administrative, conseils et accompagnement, captations, formation – que chaque programme de soutien est établi. Ce réseau, unique en son genre, renouvelle l’esprit du « faire ensemble » en inventant de nouveaux modes d’interventions en dehors des circuits habituels de la production et de la diffusion.
Dans le cadre du Réseau Grand LUXE, Romane Peytavin et Pierre Piton ont effectué une résidence au Grand Studio de Bruxelles, L’Abri a accueilli Marino Vanna en avril et en septembre 2019. Anna-Marija Andomaityte et Pierre Piton ont intégré le programme 2019/2020 du réseau Grand Luxe.

D’AUTRES COLLABORATIONS SONT EN COURS D’ÉLABORATION…

X