CAMILLE POUDRET 20-21 AA

BIO

Camille Poudret isn’t sure she knows how to write a synopsis of her arrival into this extremely specific cultural universe, even though she has a Bachelor’s in Philosophy, English and Social Sciences. It’s clear that she can sing like Wejdene, that she could embody THE popstar of an entire generation, but, more than anything, that she is nothing but a great tragicomic clown from the 21st century, that we can find her anywhere (whether in a ski slope or in the middle of a construction site) and that she could be anyone in the world; your neighbour, me. Even you.

What she creates is embedded in wonder, in the spontaneity of what happens unexpectedly. And when we practice surprise, we practice perplexity. Armed with a truly conscious naivety, she observes the absurd, she refers to it, she frequently highlights the heaviness of the meaning of what she sees. She tries to bring others along her observant walks and to transform everyday life into a vast theatre scene. Passionate about amateurism, Camille persists in thinking that even nameless banalities, when they are revealed, form a path towards something better. As a response to this vision of daily life, she aims at a life of projects, more than a life project, and wants to deconstruct all that is still around her, especially the institutionalized arts. So, she co-creates and participates in numerous projects and associations of all kinds, with the only goal of bringing what is underexposed back into the spotlight.
In her (very professional) CV, we can see that she has co-founded a theatre company, that she was a student assistant in an academic association that was involved in producing artistic creations, that she plays instruments and synthesizers, that she sings, that she wields autotune. We can see as well that in 2019 she co-hosted an autotune workshop for an audience without cisgender men for the Les Créatives festival (in their Hip-Hop Summer Sisters Week schedule) and that she co-wrote and performed in an autotuned production in a Quechua tent for Lughnasadh, the wicca and druidic celebration, on 1 August in the Vinaigre Festival 2019, the evil twin of the Fête des Vignerons de Vevey. Camille Poudret assisted Michel Toman in his staging for the popular Fête du Blé et du Pain d’Echallens in 2018 and discovered documentary cinema during an internship at the Visions du Réel festival. It looks like she also played around with video, since she has accompanied the concerts of musician Flammkuch after his debut in 2017 with videos invented from video games and installations. We also see that she co-writes every year, during the Festival de la Cité in Lausanne, the Gazinette Cendrée, a newspaper about the absurd, along with the fact that in 2016-2017 she co-hosted the radio show La Fascicule and, finally, that she has been a part of readings by the actress Agathe Hazard Raboud, creating noises by using a turquoise autotune box.

SEE OTHER 20-21 AA

X

CAMILLE POUDRET AA 20-21

BIO

Camille Poudret, malgré un Bachelor en Lettres – philosophie, anglais et sciences sociales – n’est pas sûre de savoir comment écrire un descriptif de son arrivée dans cet univers culturo-culturel assez spécifique. Ce qui est sûr, c’est qu’elle est capable de chanter comme Wejdene, qu’elle pourrait incarner LA popstar de toute une génération, mais surtout qu’elle n’est qu’une grande clown tragicomique du 21ème siècle, qu’on la croise partout – sur une piste de ski ou au milieu d’un chantier – et que ça pourrait être tout le monde, ta voisine, moi. Même toi.

 

Ce qu’elle fait touche à l’émerveillement, à la spontanéité de ce qui surgit sans qu’on s’y attende. Et quand on pratique la surprise, on pratique la déroute. Armée d’une naïveté très consciente, elle observe l’absurde, elle s’y réfère, elle souligne souvent la lourdeur de sens de ce qu’elle voit. Elle tente d’emporter les autres dans ses balades observatrices et de transformer le quotidien en une vaste scène de théâtre. Amatrice de l’amateurisme, Camille s’obstine à penser que même les banalités sans nom, quand elles se révèlent, forment un chemin vers quelque chose de meilleur. En réponse à cette vision du quotidien, elle vise une vie de projets, plus qu’un projet de vie, et tient à déconstruire tout ce qui est figé autour d’elle, notamment les arts institutionnalisés. Du coup, elle co-crée et participe à de nombreux projets et associations en tout genre, dans le seul but de ramener sous les projecteurs ce qui est sous-exposé.
Sur son CV (très professionnel), on peut lire qu’elle a co-fondé une troupe de théâtre, qu’elle était assistante étudiante au sein d’une association universitaire tournée vers la réalisation de créations artistiques, qu’elle fait de la musique, du chant et du synthétiseur, qu’elle manie l’auto-tune. On peut lire aussi qu’en 2019, elle co-anime un atelier d’autotune en mixité choisie pour le Festival les Créatives (dans le cadre de leur HipHop Summer Sisters Week) et qu’elle co-écrit et interprète une performance autotunée dans une tente Quechua pour la fête druidique et wicca, Lughnasadh, le 1er Août lors du Vinaigre Festival 2019, jumeau maléfique de la Fête des Vignerons de Vevey. Camille Poudret assiste la mise en scène de Michel Toman pour la célèbre et populaire Fête du Blé et du Pain d’Echallens en 2018 et découvre le cinéma documentaire lors d’un stage au festival Visions du Réel. Elle semble aussi pratiquer la vidéo, puisqu’elle accompagne en image les concerts du musicien Flammkuch depuis ses débuts, en 2017 – des vidéos concoctées à partir de jeux-vidéos et d’installations. On y apprend également qu’elle co-écrit chaque année, durant le Festival de la Cité à Lausanne, la Gazinette Cendrée, une gazette de l’absurde, qu’elle co-anime en 2016-17 l’émission de radio La Fascicule et enfin, qu’elle bruite et accompagne depuis 2019, à l’aide d’un boitier d’autotune turquoise, des lectures de la comédienne Agathe Raboud.

DÉCOUVRE LES AUTRES AA 20-21

X